City Council

Thomas Wong


District 1

Thomas Wong

Contact Thomas Wong

Vinh T. Ngo

Mayor Pro Tem,

District 5

Vinh T Ngo 180x252

Contact Vinh T. Ngo

Yvonne Yiu

Council Member, District 2

Yvonne Yiu

Contact Yvonne Yiu

Henry Lo

Council Member, District 4

Henry Lo

Contact Henry Lo

Jose Sanchez

Council Member, District 3

Jose Sanchez 180x252

Contact Jose Sanchez

Council Members are elected by districts for four-year, overlapping terms of office. The Mayor, who is selected during each Council reorganization every nine and half months, presides over all Council meetings and is the ceremonial head of the City for all official functions.

The City Council is responsible to the electorate for keeping pace with changing community needs, establishing quality municipal services, promoting confidence in local government through open conduct of public affairs, and encouraging constructive citizen participation. The City Council determines service levels and revenue obligations through the adoption of an annual budget, authorizes City contracts and expenditures, establishes municipal service goals and operating policies, and adopts regulatory measures necessary to establish community protection. The City Council also serves as the governing board of the Community Redevelopment Agency and represents the City on various intergovernmental organizations to achieve governmental cooperation, legislation, and programs that are consistent with the needs of Monterey Park's citizens.

See the Salary Schedule to view elected officials compensation and benefits.

Regular Meeting

  • 6:30 p.m. every first and third Wednesday of the month
  • City Hall Council Chamber
    320 West Newmark Avenue
    Monterey Park, CA 91754

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

For other documents or agendas not listed here, please contact the City Clerk's Office at 626-307-1359.