Concealed-Carry Weapons (CCW) Permit Information
Monterey Park Police Department CCW Application Process
For documents and further detailed instructions please see the Concealed-Carry Weapons (CCW) Documents link at the top of this page.
California law authorizes local law enforcement officials—sheriffs and chiefs of police—to issue licenses allowing license holders to “carry concealed a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person.” Cal. Pen. Code §§ 26150, 26155. In counties where the population is less than 200,000, local officials are also authorized to issue licenses permitting open carry in only that jurisdiction. Id. §§ 26150(b)(2); 26155(b)(2). These licenses, whether for concealed carry or open carry, exempt the holder from many generally applicable restrictions on the carrying of firearms in public. Local officials are only authorized to issue such licenses, however, upon proof that (1) “the applicant is of good moral character,” (2) the applicant is a resident of the relevant county or city and (3) the applicant has completed a course of training. Id. §§26150(a), 26155(a).
The Chief of Police is given the statutory discretion to issue a license to carry a firearm to residents within the community (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155). This policy will provide a written process for the application and issuance of such licenses. Pursuant to Penal Code § 26160, this policy shall be made accessible to the public.
In order to qualify for a license to carry a firearm, the applicant must meet certain requirements, including:
(a) Be a resident of the City of Monterey Park (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155).
(b) Be at least 21 years of age (Penal Code § 29610).
(c) Fully complete an application that will include substantial personal information. Much of the information in the application may be subject to public access under the Public Records Act.
(d) Be free from criminal convictions that would disqualify the applicant from carrying a firearm. Fingerprints will be required, and a complete criminal background check will be conducted.
(e) Be of good moral character (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155).
(f) Pay all associated application fees. These fees are set by statute and may not be refunded if the application is denied.
(g) Provide proof of ownership or registration of any firearm to be licensed.
(h) Be free from any psychological conditions that might make the applicant unsuitable for carrying a firearm (Penal Code § 26190).
(i) Complete required training (Penal Code § 26165).
Monterey Park residents who wish to obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) through the Monterey Park Police Department must complete the following process. Although the process can be completed out of sequence, following the order listed below will help applicants move through the process more efficiently. Applicants who have questions regarding the CCW application process can contact the CCW coordinator:
Lieutenant G. Escarsega at (626)831-6909
and at email@example.com
Applicants will begin by completing the California Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms “Standard Initial and Renewal Application for License to Carry a Concealed Weapon” (BOF 4012 1/2024). At the time the completed application is submitted, the applicant shall submit cash or check made payable to the City of Monterey Park for a nonrefundable application fee ($56.00) to cover the cost of processing the application (Penal Code § 26190). Full payment of the remainder of the application fee ($226.57) will be required prior to issuance of a license.
NOTE: Page 8 of The California Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms “Standard Initial and Renewal Application for License to Carry a Concealed Weapon” (BOF 4012 1/2024) (Witness Signature, Badge Number and Date) will not be signed until your interview with the Monterey Park Police Department CCW coordinator.
2. LIVE SCAN
As part of your background check, you will need to complete a live scan. A copy of the Monterey Park Police department live scan form can be found and is listed on the bottom of this page.
The Monterey Park Police Department offers live scan services for CCW applicants by appointment only. To find your nearest live scan location refer to the Department of Justice website: (https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations).
It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure the live scan operator inputs all information correctly. Failure to verify that the live scan information is correct may result in having to complete a secondary live scan and will delay the application process.
The following documents are required and will be submitted at the time of your interview. Any required document not provided, will result in a cancelled interview, and will need to be re-scheduled.
o Valid California Driver’s License, or California Identification Card with the applicant’s name and current Monterey Park address.
o Original Birth Certificate, Naturalization Certificate, or Valid US Passport.
o Proof of Residency (Home utility bill including cellular phones, Rental/lease agreement, Mortgage bill). If you do not have a utility bill, advise your Investigator when you are contacted to discuss additional documents accepted as proof of residency.
o DD-214 (if applicable).
4. LETTERS OF REFERENCE
The applicant shall provide at least three letters of character reference. Each reference should be someone that you have known for at least two (2) years. References must not be a relative, and no two references from the same address.
Interview with a background coordinator or his designee and a review of required documents. On the date of the interview appointment, the applicant should have all the required documentation. The interview will be conducted at the applicant’s residence. During the interview the investigator will go over the application process and advise the applicant regarding any concerns the applicant may have.
The Monterey Park Police Department CCW coordinator will conduct a thorough investigation to confirm the validity of all training and qualification requirements. CCW permits will not be issued until clearance is obtained from the Department of Justice.
All applicants shall be given written notice indicating the approval or denial of the requested CCW license within 90 days of the completed application process or 30 days after receipt of the applicant’s background check from DOJ, whichever is later. If the license is denied, the notice shall state which requirement was not satisfied.
The Chief of Police may attach reasonable conditions or restrictions upon such licenses including, but not limited to:
1. The type of weapon and ammunition that is permitted and carried.
2. The times and places where the concealed weapon can be carried.
3. Limitations in carrying concealed weapons to those circumstances when a specific dangerous activity is to be encountered and for which the applicant has sought the license.
4. Consuming any alcoholic beverage while armed.
5. Being under the influence of any medication or drug while armed when the medication or drug cautions the user not to take while operating a vehicle or heavy machinery. Additionally, CCW permit holders taking any prescription medication or drug must have a valid prescription in their name for that medication/drug.
If granted, the duration of the license shall be not more than two years, as allowed by law. The license shall lapse by operation of law if the licensee is convicted by final judgment of any felony, or serious misdemeanor, including driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If any section, subsection, sentence, clause, phrase, or other portion of this policy is for any reason held to be invalid or unconstitutional by the decision of any court of competent jurisdiction, such decision shall not affect the validity of the remaining portions of this policy.
In the event that an application is denied at the conclusion of, or during, phase one, the applicant shall be notified in writing within 90 days of the initial application or within 30 days after receipt of the applicant’s criminal background check from the California DOJ, whichever is later. If the license is denied, the notice shall state which requirement was not satisfied (Penal Code § 26205)
6. FIREARMS TRAINING
Applicants must successfully complete a firearms training course, per Penal Code 26165. Applicants will utilize a Monterey Park Police Department approved Training Provider (See attached list below) and successfully complete the training course.
New Applicants must complete a training course lasting at least 16 hours. Renewal applicants must complete a training course lasting at least 8 hours. The course shall include instruction on firearm safety, firearm handling, shooting technique, and laws regarding the permissible use of a firearm. Currently Monterey Park Police Department accepts training certificates from Los Angeles County Sheriff's Authorized training providers. Please click on the link for a list of all LASD providers:
All firearms shall be inspected by Range Master Sergeant Yung of the Monterey Park Police Department or his designee, this will ensure that it is safe, operable, and in compliance with CA state and federal regulations. Applicants must complete and pass a live fire course with each firearm to be listed on the license.
When the applicant has completed their firearm training course, a copy of the completed and signed Shooting Proficiency form must be provided at the time of the interview with the Monterey Park Police Department CCW Coordinator.
Any handgun that the applicant intends to carry and have listed on their CCW license shall meet the bellow criteria prior to being used during their required firearms training. Failure to follow the criteria or failure to adhere to CA state and federal regulations will result in the immediate suspension and/or revocation of the license.
o The handgun must be registered/DROS to the applicant.
o The handgun must be concealable upon the person or reasonably sized bag or purse.
o The handgun, magazines, and ammunition must be in compliance with applicable CA state and federal laws.
o “AR Pistols” and similar handguns are not permitted.
o The handgun shall not have any modifications from its original state from the manufacture.
7. PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSESSMENT
In addition to licensing requirements as specified by the licensing authority, the Monterey Park Police Department may require CCW applicants to undergo psychological testing as part of the application process. Applicants may be referred to a licensed psychologist used by the Monterey Park Police Department for the psychological testing of its own employees. Any fees charged will be the responsibility of the applicant. Additional psychological testing of an applicant seeking license renewal may be required.
8. FIREARM INSPECTION
Prior to issuance of the CCW permit, all applicants will need to meet with a Monterey Park Police Department Range Master or his designee to conduct an inspection of the firearm as well as discuss the applicant’s safe storage device(s). The Monterey Park Police Department CCW coordinator will contact the applicant and schedule the inspection. On the date of the inspection, instruction will be given to the applicant on how to bring their firearms to the station. Variations in this procedure will not be tolerated and can result in denial of a CCW permit.
Summary of Safe Storage Laws Regarding Children
California recognizes the importance of safe storage by requiring that all firearms sold in California be accompanied by a DOJ-approved firearms safety device or proof that the purchaser owns a gun safe that meets regulatory standards established by the Department. The current list of DOJ-approved firearms safety devices and the gun safe standards can be viewed by visiting http://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fsdcertlist.
You may be guilty of a misdemeanor or a felony if you keep a loaded firearm within any premises that are under your custody or control and a child under 18 years of age obtains and uses it, resulting in injury or death, or carries it to a public place, unless you stored the firearm in a locked container or locked the firearm with a locking device to temporarily keep it from functioning.
California generally requires all individuals, including law enforcement officers and CCW permit holders, to safely store handguns when leaving them in unattended motor vehicles. This law requires that the unattended handgun be secured either in a locked trunk; in a locked container that is placed out of plain view or permanently affixed to the vehicle’s interior; or in a locked toolbox or utility box that is permanently affixed to the bed of a pickup truck or other vehicle that does not have a trunk (Penal Code § 25140, 25452, 25612, SB 869).
9. Applicants who successfully complete all the training and qualification requirements (all the required documents have been obtained, applications completed, testing and live scan results returned) will be contacted by the CCW coordinator to schedule a pick-up date for their license to carry a concealed weapon. The licensee will come to the station to complete the final Identification Card process and pay any remaining fees. Once the identification card is completed, the CCW permit will be issued.
All fees associated with the CCW permit and application are the responsibility of the applicant. Applicants are subject to an application fee determined by the California Department of Justice. In addition, as permitted under PC § 26190(b), additional application processing fees shall be collected according to the Monterey Park Police Department’s following fee schedule:
Initial Application / 2-year DOJ Fees – Paid at the time of Live Scan
California DOJ $32.00
Initial Firearms Eligibility (Cal DOJ) $44.00
Monterey Park Live Scan Fee $32.60
Total Fee: $125.60
Monterey Park CCW Processing Fee $282.57
Phase one Application fee $56.00 Phase two balance $226.57
DOJ CCW Renewal Fee (statute) $52.00
CCW Amendment Fee (statute) $10.00
Owning and carrying a concealed firearm carries a tremendous amount of responsibility. It is recommended that CCW permit holders research and purchase some form of concealed carry insurance. Although there is currently no legal requirement to obtain such insurance in California, if you are involved in a situation where you discharged your firearm, a concealed carry insurance policy could help provide you with specific protections. This may be helpful if you are engaged in a legal battle concerning the law
For documents and further detailed instructions please see the Concealed-Carry (CCW) Documents link at the top of this page.